Happy Valentine’s Day, Mouse by Laura Numeroff, Felicia Bond

Who doesn’t love If You Give a Mouse a Cookie? We adore that book! I’m going to review it soon. I think the thing that puts it in the top ten children’s books despite it’s poetic repetitiveness is it’s so beautifully ironic. To be honest, I’m not sure what Evy sees so hilarious about it. I find it wickedly clever that while I’m reading a book about how kids- I mean a mouse- will ask for one thing then the other every second of every day and it’s equal parts exhausting, annoying, and adorable, they are doing just that.

So this is one of the Mouse Cookie knock offs, a “If You Give…” book, it says. I remember the first one: something about moose and muffins. This one is about Mouse writing valentines for all his friends, moose, pig, and more. It’s sweet and thoughtful. That’s about it.

What do you expect from a few cardboard pages? They’re cute, they’re pink, there’s lots about love for all his friends. It might be better if you’ve read all the other books; I think they are about his other friends featured.

So we weren’t in love with it, but it’s fine, especially if you’re looking for  something holiday themed, though it doesn’t live up to the legacy of the original. What can? Evy was less picky than me. She ate it up, just like the white chocolate covered pretzels with pink sprinkles we made.

I say we, but I think we both knew who was the master chef here.

Happy Valentine’s Day from me and my love!

-Evy and Me.

 

Leave a Reply

